Excuses Or Results?

Well excuuuuussse me!

Yea we all have those things called excuses for everything we don’t want to really do. I know I’m most certainly guilty and in any given day I can find in my mind’s eye a perfectly logical excuse for a number of things. I think unfortunately its human nature to give excuses for every selfish thing we do. For example ….you catch me eating straight out of the ice cream carton with the largest spoon that exists in the utensil drawer and my excuse would be that I had a bad day at work or you ask me if I worked out today and I said no because my legs were sore or my favorite workout socks were dirty!!! I could go on and on but the thing with excuses are they never get you anywhere they only keep you going in circles and then you find yourself dizzy from all that spinning around.

Before I decided to commit to doing Chalean Extreme this year I asked myself was I going to offer up a bunch of crazy excuses as to why I couldn’t do it or was I going to be passionate and determined enough that I wanted to see results? My decision was to see results and I got them! IMG_4165

I don’t think I have ever had muscle definition in my arms EVER! The process of all this has not been easy for this girl who has struggled with disordered eating for most of her life. The concept of building muscle where puny flabby skin once just hung on bones and the fact that I’ve had to start eating beyond  my comfort zone to be able to nourish and refuel my body throughout this program has sometimes thrown me into a panic but having the mindset of NO EXCUSES I decided to push through! It’s been very rewarding!

The Beachbody community has helped and encouraged me so much through their support and their products that it has stirred this new-found passion for not only myself but having the desire to pass it on to others. I did not enter into this program as a get rich scheme, to push products, or to come across as some know it all when it comes to health and fitness. My desire is to help people taste and see how health and fitness can change your life from the inside out! I believe that once you get motivated and you decide to commit to it that it’s like lighting up one of those sparklers you see so much this time of the year. It’s contagious and I’ve decided that excuses are just not going to work for me because I would rather see the results!

I believe we make-weight loss and getting healthier so much more complicated than it really is and that’s’ why last week I started my own personal challenge with a friend who I shall call Guinea. Yes she volunteered to be my guinea pig and she wanted to remain anonymous so I’ve affectionately given her that name.

Last Monday I had Guinea take her before pics and measurements and she then started her journey to a healthy lifestyle.

The challenge I laid before her was this…..

  • 1 Shakeology shake a day
  • 2 other meals plus a snack a day…her choice as long as they were healthy choices!
  • Doing Chalean Extreme (strength portion only )with me 3 days a week
  • Finding some kind of cardio she enjoyed  at least 2 days a week ( she informed she did not like traditional cardio like running, treadmill or the like so I let her choose her own)

Not a hard challenge at all so she put away the excuses and accepted!

Although we are not weighing in every week she wanted to just get a glimpse of her progress and I’m proud to report…….

IMG_4169

 

I’m so proud of her and can’t wait to see all the changes that are going to take place in her the next 90 days.

Getting fit does not mean you have to spend 8 hours a day in a gym, spend an insane amount of money on equipment or give up every food you love but it does mean you have to ditch the excuses and decide you want to commit to seeing the results!

I remind myself of this verse every time I want to give into excuses……

1 Corinthians 6:19-20 Don’t you know that your body is the temple of the Holy Spirit, who lives in you and who was given to you by God? You do not belong to yourselves but to God; 20 he bought you for a price. So use your bodies for God’s glory.

To be continued…….. 😉 ……..Let’s cheer Guinea on!!!

Leave a Reply

