Sometimes You Feel Like A Nut!

Let’s get a little nutty here okay?  Coconutty  to be exact. I’ve come to adore these things along with the multitude of others.

Growing up the only coconut I can remember eating was my grandmas coconut cream pie and my memory of that still makes my mouth water! Her pies were amazing!

Coconut has certainly come into the limelight lately and it amazes of all the health benefits that comes from this miracle nut.

The coconut is naturally occurring in saturated fat but it is so good for you and provides a number of profound health benefits, such as:
•Improving your heart health
•Boosting your thyroid
•Increasing your metabolism
.Promotes a lean body and weight loss if needed.
.Supports your immune system.

Coconut oil even benefits your skin when applied topically and has been found to have anti-aging, regenerative effects. Woo hoo! What girl doesn’t love the thought of that?

I keep a huge jar on my vanity in my bathroom and use it for moisturizer and it’s an excellent eye makeup remover!

My kitchen cupboards have become obsessed with it also covering everything from coconut oil, coconut flour, and I recently found a cooking spray.

I even experimented in making my own coconut butter.. Oh Me Oh My I could literally swim in this stuff! 😍

20120827-220155.jpg

Yes, one thing is for sure and that is that the coconut is very versatile. It can be eaten raw, dehydrated or in the form of butter. It’s excellent in baked goods and a plethora of sweet treats,

As much as I love these things I have to confess I’m hopeless in cracking these suckers open with grace and style…. Somebody Help Me!!!

20120827-220448.jpg

20120827-220510.jpg

Pretty huh?

I’m on Day 2 of The Whole 30 and got creative thanks to Pinterest this morning with my breakfast.

IMG_4994It was an egg white with 1 egg , sautéed sliced apples with cinnamon  omelet with you guessed it….Coconut butter! Perfection!

Day 2 hasn’t been too bad. I found myself a little tired this morning but that also could be contributed to information overload at work! 😯

Yes, sometimes you feel like a nut and sometimes you don’t or so the jingle goes but I think I will always be a little nutty it’s more fun. 😉

Leave a Reply

